School Council

School councils play a key role in Victorian government schools. Participating as a school council member at Avondale Primary School is a rewarding experience. Our 2022 council consists of 8 parents, 1 community member and 3 school staff members.


The school council supports the principal to provide the best possible educational outcomes for all of our students.


Current Membership


President - Isabelle Sawtell
Vice President – Annerley Juhlin- Beeck
Treasurer – Lance Ferguson
Secretary – Joe Scarfo


Anthony Baldwin (Community Member)

Annerley Juhlin-Beeck

Jill Benham (DET)

Scott Cameron

Dina Carranza

Carli Chamberlain

Lance Ferguson

Kerry Gribbin (DET)

Trevor Harrison

Isabelle Sawtell

Joe Scarfo (DET)

Brian Tyrrell


School Council News 2022



We held our last Council meeting of 2022 on Tuesday 22 November.

The Council approved the following:

• Curriculum Days for 2023

• SunSmart Policy

• The Draft 2023 Indicative Budget Summary Report

• $75 refund/credit to parents for the Grades 3/4 Bendigo Camp

• 2023 Parent Payment Letter

• Team Kids school holiday Program will be accessible by current Grade 6 students and also students who will be commencing Foundation in 2023.


School Council discussed the following:

• The Interrelate Tricky Talks received very positive feedback and Council support the return of these in 2023.

• The School Council is keen to support future school activities (including Fundraising) and the discussed the possibility that all members could undertake the required training to obtain the Food Handling Certificate.

• The lawn mowing was also a key area of discussion with numerous factors including the significant rain fall and a change in mowing provider affecting the school grounds. Peter Gagliardi is investigating different solutions to address this.

• The water leak under the new building is still causing issues around the building and outside the school grounds. Jill is working closely with the VSBA (Victorian Schools Building Authority) to ensure this is rectified and is an ongoing investigation.


School Council members are excited to have the opportunity to attend the Grade 6 graduation to support our students progressing to high school in 2023. The end of year celebration on Thursday 8 December promises to be a highlight of 2022. The excitement is building in the community with some incredible raffle prizes to be won and live performances from each grade. We look forward to seeing the school community all together in a fun and relaxed setting to celebrate Avondale Primary!


Please support the fundraising sausage sizzle this Saturday 26 November held at the school for the Federal State Election. Helpers are still welcome even if you can only spare an hour! If not, just come and enjoy a sausage or 2!



We held our meeting on Tuesday 13 September (this week) and Council members were provided with Child Safety training in accordance with the new Child Safe Standards.


The following are highlights from our discussions based on the reports tabled at the meeting:


Excitement is building with Team Kids who are preparing to commence the OHSC next term.


Although not instigated by School Council, safety is a responsibility which falls under our remit. So, we are very pleased to see the introduction of the School Drop-Off zone this week in Wood Street, another positive way to help keep our children safe.


The Fundraising Team had a successful Father’s Day Stall and Sports Day lunch. They will be seeking volunteers for the State Election BBQ on Saturday 26 November 2022. 


The Facilities Subcommittee have replaced the sand in the sandpit with a new cover and shade sails will soon be installed beside the Futsal Court. There are a number of improvements/ projects in the making including a bike shed and extension of the PA system.


The Canteen is undergoing some menu changes…keep an eye on Compass for more details.


The Education Subcommittee is currently reviewing the Homework Policy and will discuss this at the next meeting.


The Council endorsed the new Statement of Values and School Philosophy which can now be shared with our community.



Our last meeting was held on Tuesday 16 August in which we welcomed our new member, Scott Cameron who has filled a vacant position on the Council.


Daniel from TeamKids, our newly appointed OSHC provider, shared an informative presentation followed by a Q & A session. The Council are very pleased to welcome TeamKids to our Avondale community to provide new and exciting opportunities for our children. An information webinar has been scheduled in Week 10.


The Child Safety Code of Conduct was endorsed by the Council and consultation with related Child Safe policies has occurred.


Some highlights from our School Council Subcommittee meetings are:


Canteen: We require additional volunteers! Please contact if you would like to be involved

Keep an eye out on Compass for some specials on the Canteen Menu in the next few months


Education: What is the most effective way to communicate regular information and share our teaching and learning with families?


Fundraising: Exciting activities planned include a Father’s Day Stall and a State Election Day BBQ. Further details to be released soon.



Our last meeting was held on Tuesday 17th May 2022. The Council ratified the following: 

  • The participation of the Year 5 & 6 Camp to Canberra 21-25 November 2022. 
  • The participation of the Year 3 & 4 Camp to Bendigo 12-14 October 2022. 
  • Senior Athletics Day Carnival for Year 3-6 for Friday 10 June 2022. 

The Council discussed the role of subcommittees and proposing meetings for them for the duration of the year. Participation in subcommittees is a fantastic way to be involved in the school and we welcome anyone who is interested. The subcommittees are: 

  • Finance 
  • Fundraising 
  • Education 
  • Facilities 
  • Canteen 

The dates for these monthly meetings will be shared through Compass this If you would like to be involved, please email the school 

We also discussed ideas for some whole school events (including some possibilities for the Fundraising Subcommittee) for students and families and would love some input from the Student Representative Council (SRC) to see what the students think.



On Tuesday we held our School Council AGM and meeting. It was great to all meet and acknowledge our retiring members, Dannie Sophoulis, Andrew Barker and Ajay Bhargava,  and welcomed our new members, Trevor Harrison, Annerley Juhlin-Beeck, Brian Tyrrell and Lance Ferguson. 


School Council Subcommittees

We are seeking expressions of interest for parent involvement in our subcommittees. These are a great way to learn more about the school and contribute your ideas/skills/ expertise. The subcommittees do not require any former experience, just an interest and enthusiasm to be involved. 

  • Finance 
  • Education 
  • Canteen 
  • Fundraising 
  • Facilities 

Your canteen needs you!!!! 

Di is seeking volunteers for next term. If you are able to volunteer to assist in the canteen on a Monday, Thursday or Friday, even if it is just for half a day, please contact the school office. You can make some amazing friends working here, it’s a great way to get experience and your children will love having you there!  

Please contact to express your interest in joining a subcommittee or volunteering in the canteen. 



@ 2022 Avondale Primary School